People

Roster

Photo of CTR members

CTR members present for photo, top left to right: Chris Anderson, Alex Kirschel, Eduardo Mendoza Ramirez, Edward Mitchard, Wolfgang Buermann, Paul Bunge, Akane Nishimura, Jean Savage, Sallie Chin, Tom Dietsch, Zac Cheviron, Ryan Harrigan, Ana Paula Giorgi, Emily Curd, Tyffany Chen, Kevin Njabo, Adam Freedman, Stephanie Steele, Princess Gilbert, Cully Nordby, John Pollinger, Alison Hamilton, Hilton Oyamaguchi,, Tom Smith, Allison Alvarado, Erin Toffelmier, Jaime Chaves, Pamela Thompson, Renata Durães, Jordan Karubian, Raul Sedano

Director

Associate Directors

Senior Researchers

  • Brenda Larison - Center for Tropical Research, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Kristen Ruegg- University of California, Los Angeles and University of California, Santa Cruz

Affliliated Faculty

Anthropology

Biomathematics

Biostatistics

Brain Research Institute

  • Alan Grinnell (also Integrative Biology & Physiology and School of Medicine)

Center for International Emergency Medicine

Center for Society and Genetics

Cotsen Institute of Archaeology

David Geffen School of Medicine

  • Alan Grinnell (also Brain Research Institute and Integrative Biology & Physiology)
  • Peter Narins (also EEB and Integrative Biology & Physiology)
  • Marc Suchard (also Biostatistics and Biomathematics)

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB)

Fielding School of Public Health

Geography

Graduate School of Education and Information Studies

Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (IoES)

International Institute

Integrative Biology and Physiology

Luskin School of Public Affairs

Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology

Political Science

School of Dentistry

Sociology

  • Walter R. Allen (also Graduate School of Education and Information Studies)

World Arts and Cultures

  • Allen Roberts (Steering Commitee member and International Institute)

Postdoctoral Research Fellows

Graduate Students

Research Associates

International Research Associates

Senior Research Fellows

Partner Organizations

Friends of CTR

Alumni

  • Connie Clark
  • Mark Collins
  • Mark Fogil
  • Aaron French
  • Ellen Van Gelder
  • Denise Hardesty
  • Kimberly Holbrook
  • Mari Kimura
  • John Poulsen
  • Alex Richard
  • Don Stauffer
  • Peg Wade
  • Ken Whitney

Administration

  • Administrative Analyst: Christa Gomez
  • Administrative Assistant: Jennifer Mallipudi

Contact Information

CTR Steering Committee

Thomas B. Smith (Director) 310-206-4712 tbsmith@ucla.edu
Thomas Gillespie 310-825-1818 tg@geog.ucla.edu
Peter Narins 310-825-0265 pnarins@ucla.edu
Allen Roberts 310-825-3779 aroberts@arts.ucla.edu
Victoria Sork 310-825-7755 vlsork@ucla.edu 
Robert Wayne 310-206-0334 rwayne@biology.lifesci.ucla.edu

CTR Affiliated Faculty

Michael Alfaro 310-794-5019 michaelalfaro@ucla.edu
Paul Barber 310-794-5349 paulbarber@ucla.edu
H. Clark Barrett 310-267-4260 barrett@anthro.ucla.edu
Daniel Blumstein 310-267-4746 marmots@ucla.edu
Wolfgang Buermann 310-206-7978 buermann@ucla.edu
Judith Carney 310-825-1216 carney@geoc.ucla.edu
Martin Cody 310-825-1327 mlcody@ucla.edu
Nicholas Collias 310-825-4366  
J.R. DeShazo 310-206-6717 deshazo@ucla.edu 
Arthur Gibson 310-825-8062 agibson@biology.ucla.edu
Malcolm Gordon 310-825-4579 msgordon@ucla.edu
Patricia Gowaty 310-206-2186 gowaty@eeb.ucla.edu
Gregory Grether 310-794-9769 ggrether@ucla.edu
Alan Grinnell 310-825-7870
William Hamner 310-825-9302 hamner@biology.ucla.edu
Susanna Hecht 310 779-5654 sbhecht@ucla.edu 
Henry Hespenheide 310-825-3170 hahii@ucla.edu
Ann Hirsch 310-206-8673 ahirsch@ucla.edu
Stephen Hubbell 310-206-8165 shubbell@eeb.ucla.edu
David Jacobs 310-206-7885 djacobs@ucla.edu
Jessica Lynch Alfaro 310-206-1889 jlynchalfaro@socgen.ucla.edu
Glen MacDonald 310-825-2568 macdonal@geog.ucla.edu
Kenneth Nagy 310-825-8771 kennagy@biology.ucla.edu
Peter Narins 310-825-0265 pnarins@ucla.edu
Peter Nonacs 310-206-7332 pnonacs@biology.ucla.edu
John Novembre 310-825-4065 jnovembre@uchicago.edu
Gregory Okin 310-825-3426 okin@ucla.edu
Anthony Orme 310-825-1516 orme@geog.ucla.edu
Susan Perry 310-267-4338 sperry@anthro.ucla.edu
Stephanie Pincetl 310-825-2434 spincetl@ioe.ucla.edu
Marilyn Raphael 310-206-4590 raphael@ucla.edu
Anne Rimoin 310-825-2096 arimoin@ucla.edu
Michael Ross 310-267-5409 mlross@polisci.ucla.edu
Phil Rundel 310-825-4072 rundel@biology.ucla.edu
Lawren Sack 310-825-6525 lawrensack@ucla.edu
Eric Savitsky 310-794-3086 esavitsk@ucla.edu
Barney Schlinger 310-825-5716 schlinge@lifesci.ucla.edu
Victoria Sork 310-825-7755 vlsork@ucla.edu
Charles Taylor 310-825-6850 taylor@biology.ucla.edu
Blaire Van Valkenburgh 310-794-9398 bvanval@ucla.edu
Richard Vance 310-825-2685 rvance@ucla.edu
Thomas Wake 310-206-1782 twake@ucla.edu
Hartmut Walter 310-825-3116 walter@geog.ucla.edu
Yongkang Xue 310-825-1122 yxue@geog.ucla.edu

UCLA/CTR Graduate and Undergraduate Students, Postdocs, Researchers, Lecturers, and Staff

Nicole Arrigo Associate Director 310-206-5208 ncarrigo@ucla.edu
Timothy Bonebrake Postdoc 818-642-4093 tbone@atmos.ucla.edu
Tony Chasar Research Staff 310-206-6234 tchasar@ucla.edu
Samantha Cheng Graduate Student 310-794-5511 scheng87@ucla.edu
Chris Creese Graduate Student 310-206-2887 czerniak@ucla.edu
Emily Curd Graduate Student 310-267-4460 eecurd<at>ucla.edu
Sarah Fernandez Graduate Student   sfernan@sbcglobal.net
Trevon Fuller Postdoc 310-206-6234 fullertl@ucla.edu
Allison Fritts-Penniman Graduate Student 607-342-2048 frittspenniman@ucla.edu
Christa Gomez Administrative Staff 310-206-6234 cgomez@lifesci.ucla.edu
Ryan Harrigan Postdoc 203-804-9505 iluvsa<at>ucla<dot>edu
Rachel Johnston Graduate Student 310-267-4460 racheljo@ucla.edu
Erica Jones Graduate Student 215-498-3033 ericapj@gmail.com
Jordan Karubian Associate Director 504-862-5192 jk@tulane.edu
Brenda Larison Assistant Researcher 310-206-6599 blarison@ucla.edu
Kevin Njabo Africa Director 310-267-5132 kynjabo@ucla.edu
Willis Okech Oyugi Graduate Student 513-807-5203 okechoyugi@ucla.edu
Hilton Oyamaguchi Graduate Student 310-267-4460 hiltonoya@ucla.edu
Shauna Price Graduate Student 310-825-5014 slprice@ucla.edu
Sassan Saatchi Researcher 818-354-1051 ssatchi@congo.jpl.nasa.gov
Sharlene Santana Postdoc 413-687-0185 sharlene.santana@gmail.com
Raul Sedano Graduate Student 310-206-6234 rsedano@ucla.edu
Basma Sheta Graduate Student 818-370-7690 basmasheta@ucla.edu
Erin Toffelmier Research Staff 310-267-4460 etoff<at>ucla.edu
Camille Yabut Graduate Student 408-540-8386 cvyabut@ucla.edu
Jennifer Mallipudi Administrative Staff 714-600-4551 jsm93@yahoo.com


Center for Tropical Research | UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
La Kretz Hall, Suite 300 | 619 Charles E. Young Dr. East | Los Angeles, CA 90095-1496

The Center for Tropical Research, located on the third floor of La Kretz Hall, is part of the Institute of the Environment and Sustainability at the University of California, Los Angeles. For general inquiries, contact Christa Gomez, CTR Office Manager, at 310-206-6234, or by email at cgomez@lifesci.ucla.edu. Visitors are always welcome.

Back to Top